"I gave the Garfield High School victim CPR. Now I’m pulling my son from school" - 17 year old killed today at Seattle HS

Daps
Reppin
206 & 734

SMFH brehs, this story/headline too close to not share. I lived 3 blocks from there until like 2 months ago, for 4 years.

I gave the Garfield High School victim CPR. Now I’m pulling my son from school​

506cb7faca34a0dddee651be76723d0f.jpg

Christle Young, a Garfield High School mom and former cop, rushed to perform first aid on the shooting victim on Thursday. She shared her account with KUOW's Liz Jones:
I was waiting on my son to come out and get some gift cards from me for the track banquet.

When I was waiting on him, and I was filling out the gift cards, and I noticed that there were a lot of kids in the parking lot -- probably like 40 or 50 kids walking up the stairs to go back into school during lunchtime, and there were like five or six gunshots that rang out.

The kids started scattering. I'm a former police officer, so I ran towards the gunshots.

I saw a kid on the ground. He had a gunshot wound to his left upper chest and one to the left side of his abdomen. I started doing CPR. I asked the school nurse to help me by putting some pressure on the wound on his abdomen. She was hesitant but I put her hands on top of it and said keep your hands there while I continued CPR.

Seattle Police and the fire department arrived pretty quickly and they took over.

The police gave me some sanitary wipes to wipe the blood off my hands. I still have blood on my phone. I went home to shower and change. And I've just been in contact with my son.
My adrenaline was really heightened during the incident. And now I just feel I've crashed, and I'm just ready to get my kid and get him home.
2a694daa5bcb62564a52a1ce5466c406.jpg

Christle Young hugs her son after he was released from school following a shooting on Thursday, June 6, 2024, at Garfield High School in Seattle.