Software Development and Programming Careers (Official Discussion Thread)

DJSmooth

Superstar
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
3,975
Reputation
1,229
Daps
23,678
tenor.gif

Good luck out there lol. I don't use AWS so I can't speak to that specifically. I could be misinterpreting, but you want to set up environment variables (AWS_USR, AWS_TOKEN) and make them available to your container? If so the you'll have something like:
docker run -d -e AWS_USR=some-user -e AWS_TOKEN=some-token your_image_name

But it almost sounds like your credentials aren't valid. Try running

docker run -it --entry point /bin/bash -e AWS_USR=some-user -e AWS_TOKEN=some-token your_image_name
Then run your script with bash -c my_script.sh. That might point you towards what the issue is

Good look. Thanks for the clarification. I got it working locally I was able to to use a docker-compose to copy all of my .aws credentials directory over. :wow:

Now if I could get this shyt to work in the aws cloud I'd be good to go. :mjcry:
 

Obreh Winfrey

Truly Brehthtaking
Supporter
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
20,852
Reputation
25,252
Daps
131,941
Good look. Thanks for the clarification. I got it working locally I was able to to use a docker-compose to copy all of my .aws credentials directory over. :wow:

Now if I could get this shyt to work in the aws cloud I'd be good to go. :mjcry:
When you try in AWS what happens? Is it like a VM you have out there or does AWS have some sort of Docker specific deployment tool? I don't use AWS so I don't know what they have for this sort of thing.
 

null

...
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
29,242
Reputation
4,894
Daps
46,428
Reppin
UK, DE, GY, DMV
I am loving MongoDB for a database. Nice and simple. It came easier to me than SQL. Is it possible to get by knowing just MongoDB or do you have to learn SQL too?

Codewars helped me. I used it for javascript and it helped me get the functions and methods down for problem-solving.

Try this for SQL
516GF07TZHL._SX376_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
 
Last edited:

buzzkill

All Star
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
2,551
Reputation
430
Daps
9,541
Reppin
Midwest/GA
Yo I have been trying to figure out how to deploy a site for the past 2 days using heroku and surge. I keep getting this error on heroku "npm ERR! missing script: start" and surge just says page not found. Can anyone help me out?


its a static html css and jquery website btw
 

Obreh Winfrey

Truly Brehthtaking
Supporter
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
20,852
Reputation
25,252
Daps
131,941
Yo I have been trying to figure out how to deploy a site for the past 2 days using heroku and surge. I keep getting this error on heroku "npm ERR! missing script: start" and surge just says page not found. Can anyone help me out?


its a static html css and jquery website btw
In the root of your project do you have a file called package.json? When I've seen that sort of error I was missing an entry for a section in there called scripts. Here's the file from an old Angular project I was working on:
Code:
{
  "name": "myapp",
  "version": "0.0.0",
  "license": "MIT",
  "scripts": {
    "ng": "ng",
    "start": "ng serve",
    "build": "ng build",
    "test": "ng test",
    "lint": "ng lint",
    "e2e": "ng e2e"
  },
  "private": true,
  "dependencies": {
    "@angular/animations": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/common": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/compiler": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/core": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/forms": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/http": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/platform-browser": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/platform-browser-dynamic": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/router": "^4.2.4",
    "angular-bootstrap-md": "^4.3.7",
    "angularfire2": "^5.0.0-rc.3",
    "chart.js": "^2.5.0",
    "core-js": "^2.4.1",
    "firebase": "^4.5.2",
    "font-awesome": "^4.7.0",
    "hammerjs": "^2.0.8",
    "rxjs": "^5.4.2",
    "zone.js": "^0.8.14"
  },
  "devDependencies": {
    "@angular/cli": "1.3.0",
    "@angular/compiler-cli": "^4.2.4",
    "@angular/language-service": "^4.2.4",
    "@types/jasmine": "~2.5.53",
    "@types/jasminewd2": "~2.0.2",
    "@types/node": "~6.0.60",
    "codelyzer": "~3.1.1",
    "jasmine-core": "~2.6.2",
    "jasmine-spec-reporter": "~4.1.0",
    "karma": "~1.7.0",
    "karma-chrome-launcher": "~2.1.1",
    "karma-cli": "~1.0.1",
    "karma-coverage-istanbul-reporter": "^1.2.1",
    "karma-jasmine": "~1.1.0",
    "karma-jasmine-html-reporter": "^0.2.2",
    "protractor": "~5.1.2",
    "ts-node": "~3.2.0",
    "tslint": "~5.3.2",
    "typescript": "~2.3.3"
  }
}

You probably need that scripts.start entry.
 

null

...
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
29,242
Reputation
4,894
Daps
46,428
Reppin
UK, DE, GY, DMV
Yo I have been trying to figure out how to deploy a site for the past 2 days using heroku and surge. I keep getting this error on heroku "npm ERR! missing script: start" and surge just says page not found. Can anyone help me out?


its a static html css and jquery website btw

I don't know node very well, and am just learning it now but it might be useful if you let us know at which point the error appears. Which OS are you deploying to? Do you have command line access?
 

Deflatedhoopdreams

Veteran
Supporter
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
35,791
Reputation
6,915
Daps
75,856
Reppin
The Rucker
Going to start learning Python this week. Got to expand my knowledge and improve my resume.

Breh. I found this app “SoloLearn”. It has Python learn on it. It breakdown everything and has quiz questions every couple of sections. Has a comment section where people explain the answers to the questions. It’s the best easiest way to learn Python that I have come across.

Try it out. You have to go through everything to get to the next section.
 

Trustus

Black like the planet that they fear
Supporter
Joined
May 31, 2012
Messages
697
Reputation
1,170
Daps
2,222


Do you guys know people in the field who feels this way?
 

Secure Da Bag

Veteran
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
40,090
Reputation
20,339
Daps
126,297


Do you guys know people in the field who feels this way?


You hear this from time to time on forums, but I haven't personally heard anyone say this. What I have heard them say is that free coder bootcamp will just churn out bad programmers at a faster rate. However, tech companies have been complaining about a shortage of programmers for over a decade now. So to say that the tech industry will be flooded and pay will go down seems to be FUD or at the very least inaccurate.
 

null

...
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
29,242
Reputation
4,894
Daps
46,428
Reppin
UK, DE, GY, DMV
You hear this from time to time on forums, but I haven't personally heard anyone say this. What I have heard them say is that free coder bootcamp will just churn out bad programmers at a faster rate. However, tech companies have been complaining about a shortage of programmers for over a decade now. So to say that the tech industry will be flooded and pay will go down seems to be FUD or at the very least inaccurate.

It keeps wages down in Europe. Unlike in the states we have millions of educated but poor people very close by in Eastern Europe.
Deutsche Boerse for example outsourced most of their bog standard development to Prague.

"There are two Deutsche Börse Group companies in Prague, both of them located in Prague’s Karlin 8 district: Deutsche Börse Services s.r.o. and Clearstream Operations Prague s.r.o. With currently more than 800 employees at both companies, Prague is the Group’s third-largest location after Frankfurt and Luxembourg."
Deutsche Börse Group - Prague

This "Prague is the Group’s third-largest location after Frankfurt and Luxembourg" means the biggest location other than the two ex-head offices. Frankfurt for Deutsche Boerse and Luexmbourg for Clearstream.
 
Top