Brehs... Should I go back and get my MBA?, or should I...

Prodyson

All Star
Daps
(I don't like posting in Higher Learning, so I'll post this here...)

Should I go get my MBA, or should I get a Project Management/Lean Six Sigma Certification.
Right now I have a degree in Management Information Systems, and work in a position related to my field. I've determined recently that my final "destination" is probably to work as a Project Manager at some level. The past few months I had been researching and planning for going back to get an MBA, but it's just mad expensive. Even to go to a local university, you have to drop like 25K.

So recently I have been looking into just trying to get my PMP and Six Sigma Certifications. I can go to Emory and get a project management certificate and a Six Sigma Green Belt Certification for $5400, plus books. And It would take me maybe a year. The cheapest school in my area to get an MBA is Georgia State University or the Georgia WebMBA program that goes through several universities around here, and they are around 30K. Schools like Emory, UGA, and Georgia Tech are all 40K+.

Do ya'll think it would make sense to just go for a PMP and Six Sigma instead. And people in the field, do you think it's just as/more/less marketable than an MBA?
One other option is to try to go back to my undergrad school and get In-State tuition :smugfavre: , and the MBA program is like 10K total, but it's a small school, non recgonizable school. It's in the UNC School System, but it's a small HBCU.

Mind you, my job has tuition reimbursement that will pay like 80% of my school expenses up to $6000 per calendar year

Huellz Santana

Shocking
Daps
Reppin
Da city where the skinny nikkas die
it all depends. how old are you? how many yrs of experience do you have? what undergrad degree did you get? :lupe: