WTF is the point of the Num Lock button?

Luke Cage

Coffee Lover
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
Harlem
I only ever use the number pad for typing numbers. no other reason
but every now and then you hut num lock by mistake and gotta retype the last 5 digits that didn't entered on whichever spreadsheet
Who needs to turn the num lock function off for this to be a permanent feature?
They need to get rid of that button or at least move it to the other side of the key board so you don't accidently hit it when going for 7
main-qimg-9a3ee61017425a316e4a6a9bc317da9f-lq

most frustrating thing about keyboards
I'm an accountant so i type out numbers all day and rarely even look at the keys, so sometimes slip happen, but it seems unnecessary

Flexington

All Star
Daps
It's just for the dual functionality in those buttons on the numberpad.

Most standard keyboards these days are full sized and you've got dedicated buttons for functions like Home, End, Page Dwn, Insert, etc.
I feel like earlier on our current full sized keyboards weren't as common (especially on laptops), but they've just left it on out of tradition/habit.

Could also have left it as a "just in case" you break those buttons? I dunno :yeshrug:

beenz

Rap Guerilla
Daps
Reppin
The Chi (South Side)
but every now and then you hut num lock by mistake and gotta retype the last 5 digits that didn't entered on whichever spreadsheet
They need to get rid of that button or at least move it to the other side of the key board so you don't accidently hit it when going for 7

I'm an accountant so i type out numbers all day and rarely even look at the keys, so sometimes slip happen, but it seems unnecessary

because if ur someone who has to enter lots of numbers manually on a spreadsheet, it's waaaayyyyyy easier to use the numeric pad on your keyboard instead of the number buttons that's above the letters. I can EASILY type on the number pad without looking. much harder with the number buttons.

Luke Cage

Coffee Lover
Supporter
Daps