The Coli's Screenwriting/Filmmaking Thread [Share tips, etc]

Daps
Reppin
NULL
i'm writing one right now, shyt is hard if you try to be a perfectionist
I could actually use a partner because I have several treatments I need to get started on.

but more importantly you need the plugs to sell the script, which I have too, and I know where to network, but the game is to be sold not to be told, because i invested money and time putting together the puzzle.

Conz

Superstar
Daps
i like to think I know a lot. ask away

Anbesa

All Star
Daps
Reppin
Atlanta
Got any tips/ starting points for some one hoping to get in the film/TV industry

Conz

Superstar
Daps
Got any tips/ starting points for some one hoping to get in the film/TV industry

Well, I live in NJ, so I'm behind the 8 ball...

I'm not a professional by any means. This is essentially the same as someone in the Coliseum telling you how pro athletes live, but I'll pass any advice and knowledge I've learned. I've maybe... maybe... talked to 10 people worth a damn in 4 years, but I'll tell you all I know/have read/heard/been told...etc.

just read. read like a motherfukker. get the Save the Cat books, read other Amazon related screenwriting books (people will tell you the Syd Field book, but I think that's a little old school at this point.) Read as many scripts as you can.

Format, Story and concept are king. Don't think you can just write a script because you have a funny idea. I did that for a year and thought I was God's gift to comedy, but then I realized 100 jokes don't mean shyt when your story is a mess.